The “Preferred” Trail Bathroom (image by author of author)

Where Do The Girls Go Pee When They’re Out in the Backcountry?

Or … is Shewee the solution?

Amy Sterling Casil
5 min readNov 17, 2022

--

The marvelous Debra Groves Harman, MEd has written so eloquently about her experiences on the Camino de Santiago — she’s really activated my fascination with this wonderful trail.

She recently wrote about something a little less lofty, which was “what do you do when you’re out in the wilderness and you have to … go … peeeeeeeeeeeeee ….”

Deb mentioned good advice from a smart handkerchief-using trailside urinator, as well as her attempts to use the Shewee, a device that turns the female anatomy into a plastic duplicate of the Peehee. Peewee (oh wow, guys aren’t gonna like that are they?). The Shewee lets women, uh, put this cup thing down there and shoot urine out through a tube.

So, hiking is my official “hobby.” I was informed second-hand that a local gym owner said I can’t lead ladies on wilderness walks in local preserves because I “need to be certified.”

This authority’s instructions aside, I think I could be, like Jeepy, “trail-certified” through a lot of this stuff. Through hard experience, I learned that I shouldn’t hike in potentially dangerous wilderness areas alone or I’d end up like poor Ellen Chung, Jonathan Gerrish, and their baby and dog.

--

--

Amy Sterling Casil

Over 500 million views and 5 million published words, top writer in health and social media. Author of 50 books, former exec, Nebula nominee.