Men’s Rights Advocates Say I’m Undesirable at 61 But That’s Not True

Yes, it’s possible to be attractive and active at 60+

Amy Sterling Casil

--

I just saw a friend comment via social media that she was about to turn 60 and she was depressed and afraid.

Frightened of what? It’s a big milestone birthday: just like 10, 20, 30, 40, and 50. My daughter tells me I was a monster on my 50th birthday. I don’t recall it that way, but I do recall wondering if I’d have to retire from the social scene or be limited to “dating” wheelchair-bound 85+ year old men who wanted a free nurse.

Photo by author (04.14.23) the “Pink Limo” to Siesta Key with my friend (a former “Solid Gold” dancer)

So, the answer to “I’m about to turn 60 and no man will ever want to f**k me again” is —

Just turn 60.

Everything will be fine.

And: you will have the time of your life.

There have been a lot of things I’ve been taught throughout my life: pieces of “common wisdom” that everyone seems to assume are true.

One such bit of common wisdom was “Work hard, be honest, and you will be secure and successful.”

I still work hard and I’m still honest, but those are things I do because I intrinsically want to work hard and do not enjoy being dishonest. I don’t work hard and treat others well because I’m expecting some type of…

--

--

Amy Sterling Casil

Over 500 million views and 5 million published words, top writer in health and social media. Author of 50 books, former exec, Nebula nominee.