Image created in paid Dall-E 2 plan by author

Ballad Of The AI Worker

seeking life

--

First I heard the high-pitched cries
of a pig
Running past my window

Then I smelled the smoke
of a million
Trees burning all at once

Next I saw the ash
of those million
Trees, feathering down to the ground

Like so many vampire bats,
wings edged yellow-orange-red

Back I turned
to my work

Keystrokes to make
Quotas to fill

If quota I don’t make
I can’t pay my bill

I cannot continue

The screen
is filled with demands

A woman beckons
She promises love

But her face is nothing but broken pixels.

they tell us we cannot create as they give us ersatz everything and steal our very life

--

--

Amy Sterling Casil

Over 500 million views and 5 million published words, top writer in health and social media. Author of 50 books, former exec, Nebula nominee.